A New Year, A New Volusia County Council

With the new year comes a new County Council. Last week five members of the County Council were sworn in, four newly elected, Jake Johansson, Don Dempsey, Matt Reinhart, and Troy Kent; Danny Robins was the only member reelected. David Santiago, who was also elected, was absent from the meeting, therefore, not sworn in.


At last week's meeting, one obvious thing was that "Roberts Rules of Order" would be followed, and one of the newly elected members would be forcing those rules. Troy Kent made it known that he was going to hit the ground running, and one of those things he accomplished was getting new meeting times. The County Council will be on a hybrid schedule. Starting in February, the first meeting of every month will begin at 10 a.m. and the second meeting at 4 p.m.


The County Council will gauge public participation using the new start schedule to determine if it needs to be altered during a future meeting. The schedule for the remainder of the 2023 County Council meetings is as follows:

9:30 a.m.: January 17

10 a.m.: February 7, March 7, April 4, May 2, June 6, July 11, August 1, September 5, October 3, November 7, December 5


4 p.m.: February 21, March 21, April 18, May 16, June 20, August 15, September 19, October 17, November 21, December 19